About

OUR HISTORY

On November 14, 1975, Canadian radio history was made. When the strains of Joni Mitchell’s “You Turn Me On, I’m a Radio” transmitted over the airwaves at 93.1 FM, CKCU became the first campus-based community radio station in the country.

Since our creation, CKCU has continued to be a pioneer in community broadcasting, carrying out our mandate of providing an alternative to commercial radio as a voice for the many Ottawa identities and communities not served by the mainstream media. We are volunteer-driven in our content, programming, and operation. We pride ourselves on our values of diversity, inclusion, alternative content, innovation, and accessibility.

OUR MISSION & VISION

Our mission is to amplify, connect, and champion access to the best in broadcast media for and by communities beyond the mainstream.

Our vision is for community radio to be a competitive player in the broadcast industry, by way of increased accessibility and opportunities.

CKCU is a Registered Charity funded by generous donors, Carleton University students, program sponsorships, and residents of Ottawa-Gatineau. In 1978, CKCU held its first annual Funding Drive, asking listeners to support community radio. Since then, Ottawans have pledged several million dollars over the years to help make CKCU the largest listener-supported radio station in Ottawa-Carleton.

Staff & Team Directory

Executive Director   Kwende Kefentse    (613) 520-2600 x 1625     kwende.kefentse@ckcufm.com

Production Manager    Dylan Hunter      (613) 520-2600 x 8276     dylan.hunter@ckcufm.com

Program Director     David Aardvark       (613) 520-3533        programs@ckcufm.com

Volunteer & Community Manager  Lindsay Morrison   (613) 520-2600 x 1622    lindsay.morrison@ckcufm.com

Office Administrator + Executive Assistant   Jordan David  (613) 520-2898     jordan.david@ckcufm.com

Fundraising Consultant     Zechariah Adikpewun     zechariah.adikpewun@ckcufm.com

Communications & Design Lead     Jess Gabla      jess.gabla@ckcufm.com

Philanthropy + Sponsorship Lead     Tara Henderson     tara.henderson@ckcufm.com
______________________________________________________________

CKCU Staff are represented by CUPE Local 1281

CKCU Registered Charity Number 11910 8439 RR0001
_____________________________________

Board of Directors

Stephen Neale – Chair

Michael Houston – Treasurer

Members: Anna Soros, Andrew Squires, Patrick Auguste, Zoe Argiropulos-Hunter, Zakaria Brahimi, Chris Ikonomopoulos, George Brown, Eva Oloumi

The CKCU Board Meets on the second Tuesday of every month at 6:30pm. Meetings are open to CKCU volunteers

ckcuboard@ckcufm.com

Studio Location and Mailing Address

CKCU FM
Room 517 University Centre
1125 Colonel By Drive,
Ottawa, Ontario CANADA K1S 5B6

Consult a street map or a campus map (we’re in building UC)
__________________________________________

Music Submissions

Physical

CKCU does not encourage, but will accept music physical music submissions in CD, 12″ 10″ or 7″ formats. You can even send a wax cylinder if you want ha ha! You can track if a physical submission has been entered into our library here

Digital

For digital releases, send a download or streaming link to your record. For downloads, archived ZIP files are preferred. All of the tracks must have proper metadata (id3 tags) for the artist, album and track title. Tagging the track number and release year is also nice. We accept both .mp3 and .WAV formats. Please state in your email that we may share copies of the download with show hosts, this is for copyright reasons. Copies will not be made for personal use.

Tracking

Check our online playlists or consult our charts. We currently don’t do tracking by phone or e-mail.

Events Calendar (still on hold)

Submit Arts, Community & Music listing requests, including a web url/FB link to events@ckcufm.com.

_______________________